Virginia prohibits driving without a valid driver’s license. This article defines this violation, the possible penalties, and exemptions from the license request.
Driving without a license generally, any person operating a motor vehicle on a Virginia freeway must have a valid driver’s license with them while driving. Driving without a valid driver’s license. Unlicensed driving is a class 2 crime, with a fine of up to $ 1,000 and a maximum prison term of six months. A second crime is a class 1 offense, which can result in up to one year in prison, a maximum fine of $ 2,500, and vehicle confiscation. The vehicle is confiscated until the driver has received a valid driver’s license (maximum three days). However, vehicles are not confiscated for underage drivers or for drivers whose license has expired less than a year ago. The driver also receives three failure points and may not be able to obtain a license for up to 90 days.
License not owned. A driver who has been issued with a driver’s license but who did not wear it while driving may be subject to a violation and a fine of USD 10. However, the driver can dismiss the charge by paying the court costs and presenting the license to the court. On-resident drivers (including the military and family) with a valid driver’s license from their home state or country can drive in Virginia without a license, subject to age restrictions in Virginia. However, new residents must receive a state license within 60 days of their stay. Farmers who drive tractors along the highway and road workers who drive road machines are exempt from the permit requirements.
Driving while suspended or revoked person operating a vehicle under a suspended or revoked license will be fined, jailed, vehicle seized, extended license sanctions, and six points of failure for the license. Driving during the suspension. Driving during suspension or revocation is a Class 1 offense, which can result in a fine of up to $ 2,500 and / or up to 12 months in prison (a third drive during a suspended sentence within ten years requires a minimum of ten days Jail). The vehicle is also confiscated for 30 days. The suspension or revocation of the driving license is extended for a similar period from the original suspension or revocation. Certain drivers may have a limited license. Revoked for DWI.A violation whose driving license has been suspended due to a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) will continue to be found guilty of a Class 1 offense, which may result in a fine of up to $ 2,500 and / or a maximum prison term of 12 months. However, the driver’s vehicle is confiscated for 30 to 120 days and a limited license is not available. After all, a third crime within ten years is a class 6 crime. A grade 6 crime has a prison sentence of one to five years and a fine of up to $ 2,500. Driving during the revocation for a DWI leads to an additional one-year revocation